Hobos and Hashbrowns: Week 4

Working for rent money and stories as a barista at a local breakfast joint: The Purple Sweet Potato 

“Don’t let anyone give you a wooden cross today,” Blind Guy comments as he walks into the Purple Sweet Potato today, which happens to be Good Friday. He has yellow flowers taped all over his hat, his wrists and along his shirt. He’s decked out for something. I’m not sure what. He asks to speak to my coworker, Mod.

“That bomb that was dropped on Afghanistan today– my brother made that bomb years ago. ” Blind Guy speaks to Mod about this for a long time. I had not even read the news yet today, but am hearing about it from someone who thinks their brother is mildly responsible.

Good Friday also falls on the same day as Passover, and Jewish families come into the cafe asking if their sandwiches can be placed on a bed of lettuce instead of on bread.

I’m using plastic gloves while at the register, because of the known health effects of BPA on skin. My manager notices the gloves, laughing she asks me why I’m wearing them. I tell her, and she says that’s fair. She says she is not worried about toxic chemicals because she was a professional artist for four years, printmaking, and was constantly bathing in unsavory chemicals. Lucy comes over, and tells a story about how she burned a hole through her legs with oven cleaner at her last job. She pulls her pant leg up and shows us the gash scar.

My coworker Bran skipped town recently. She was the train hopper I mentioned a few weeks back.

“I hope it wasn’t an accident…” D says.

“God. I don’t think you could ever accidentally just hop a train.”

“Just hope someone didn’t bonk her on the head and take her with them on the train.”

“This is not Rocky and Bullwinkle,”

“But…” D’s still worried.

 

Lucy tells me that when she adopted her cat from the pound four years ago, the shelter staff were required to disclose to her that the cat was found with a dead older lady. And he had most probably been eating the older lady.

Andi was in the bathroom when suddenly we heard her scream, “Jesus Christ!” And fumble at the door to unlock it and leap out.

Kitchen staff looks up from what they are doing, and ask what’s going on with their eyes.

“I was in the bathroom, and I flushed the toilet, and then the drain on the floor sputtered and toilet water flew up out of it!”

Lucy beings to sing, “Andi-Lou Poo-Water, Andi Lou, Poo-Water. Sometimes, you’re closing down the cafe and you get a little poo-water on you.”

End day at the Purple Sweet Potato.

Photo Credit: http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-4WBjVKTbHGM/TnITsSFMi5I/AAAAAAAAORo/qVfdW4ux6Sc/s1600/PurpleYam_10_SweetPotato.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

