Learning

Tonight it was so cloudy- but the moon was so bright that you could see the clouds clearly like puzzle pieces against the clear and bright deep dark sky It looked like a cow’s back- white spots against a jet black background

Today I did a lot of driving– dropped Alyssa off in Ukiah, about 20 minutes away And then did some shopping for the team- picked up echinacea pills and tums, which I actually got in a bit of trouble for buying because it’s not food We are only allowed to use our money for food But we needed a pick me up So I’m happy I bought it

Also, we watched Seabiscuit tonight. And it was actually really cool to see the story, and be in the same place all of these people would have eventually visited. And the emblem for Howard’s racing horses- the H is printed on all the old buildings here. His buildings.

Our team leader is still out sick, and Syd and I are the managers. Getting a lot of unexpected experience in leadership during the workday.

Get a call from our unit supervisor everyday during work and discuss the workday.

Tonight is our cleaning night.

Tomorrow is a mandatory viewing of the old Seabiscuit movie.

Then Friday we are having our weekly team meeting at the house, and then heading out to the redwoods for a bonfire.

Then I’m drinking tea and staying home all weekend.

Everyone went into town to the pub tonight.

And I stayed home.

I’ve told everyone that I’m not going into civilization again for the next two months, and they are holding me accountable to that.

Conversations with the community at the dinner table:

The average farmer makes $50 per acre, per year.

That’s the average farmer, not the organic farmer.

I’ve noticed that the garden plots here are not like farms I’m used to in Kansas. There are not nice little sectioned off pieces of land, one crop for each square. I was reading the Botany of Desire tonight and realized that is called “Monoculture” and is responsible for a lot of the chemicals used on non-organic agriculture. When you don’t mix plants up, they become vulnerable as strict monocultures, and a disease or pest on one plant can take over the whole garden easily. Compared the non monoculture farming, organic farming, where the whole ecosystem is taken in

 

 

Leave a Reply

